CHEF 26 by Ojeiwa Ojeabu Omo- Episode 20

20140802-140931-50971546.jpg

“You are so God damn adorable,” Lola said, flashing her pearly white teeth while casually sweeping away a stubborn strand of curly hair that had escaped from her tight chignon.

A brief moment of silence engulfed their table before she continued speaking.

“Cynthia first told me about the situation when I was working on a film project in London. Cynthia told…..”

“A film project?! I thought you told me you were a business executive when we first met.” Damilare interrupted looking suspicious and confused.

“I know I did, and I feel bad about it but I am l’m really an actress.” Lola added.

Damilare bobbed his head a couple of times, wondering if there were any more surprising things that Lola was going to reveal about herself.

“As I was saying….., Cynthia told me it was going to be worthwhile coming back to Nigeria as I could get to meet Kaima whom I had never met. She also told me all about you and how Kaima had a little thing for you. Naturally, I was curious.” Lola continued.

Damilare didn’t speak.

“Then at the reunion, I met you. I can still see why she has a particular fondness for you. You are quite charming!” Lola said.

Damilare still didn’t speak.

“You see Dre, people aren’t often who they claim to be. I learnt that the hard way, with my deadbeat of an ex-husband….her voice trailed off. I couldn’t let the same thing happen to Kaima.” Lola continued after a long pause.

“I understand, but Kaima needed to deal with this alone, at her pace. ” Damilare finally said.

“I agree. That was the mistake Cynthia and I made. Kaima is fiercely independent, as I have come to observe. A quality which I wish to God everyday that I possessed. We truly underestimated her capacity to care for herself, and now, we have made a mess of things.” Lola added guiltily.

“Okay, I get the whole picture now, so what can I do? Should I go and ask her out?” Damilare asked.

“Don’t do anything. I will make this right on my own. It’s time to clear this mess up!” Lola said.

“How do you intend to do that? Kaima doesn’t even like you.” Damilare asked.

“Well, she will just have to give me a chance then sugar.” Lola said seductively.

Just then, Ikenna breezed into the restaurant; he wheeled over to Damilare’s side and whispered something into his ears, offering Lola a curt nod as he disappeared as quickly as he had arrived.

“Lola I have to go, but do what you must.” Damilare said as he stood up.

Lola nodded.

Damilare walked over to Lola, as she stood up too. She wanted to shake his hand, but instead he opened his arms wide indicating an embrace, she walked into his open arms, hugging him passionately as he rubber stamped a warm peck on her cheek and whispered the words “thank you” in her ear.

A round of applause erupted from the restaurant as some of the customers appreciated the show of romance which Lola and Damilare knew had been wrongly interpreted but still went with the flow.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Friday, Kaima started getting strange calls from very familiar people. They were all calling for the same purpose. She politely declined their request.

Her oldest brother, Zamayn called; he rambled on and on about forgiveness but Kaima was having none of it.

On Saturday, her other brothers called. Kaima wasn’t enjoying the rude intercessions from her family and just when she thought she had gotten some respite from staying on the phone for several hours, Cynthia’s fiancé called. Kaima really wanted to ignore his call, but Sam was too good a person.

Kaima recalled when she first met Cynthia. It was at a send forth party the company was hosting for Sam who worked with arrow visions, but had just gotten a better job offer at a top financial firm in Canada. Cynthia was depressed that Sam, who was her boyfriend at that time was leaving and Kaima felt sorry for her. They bonded over drinks that night and became inseparable ever since.

“Sam I can’t talk about this right now.”
Kaima said her phone sandwiched between her ears and her shoulder as she reached for a bottle of orange juice from the fridge in the kitchen.

“Kay, please whatever she did, you just have to let it go and be friends with her again, please Kay.” Sam pleaded from the other end of the line.

“I don’t want to talk about it Sam.” Kaima replied firmly.

There was a long pause; Kaima was now in the living room sitting on the couch, then changing her position as she lay down, waiting for Sam to say something.

“Promise me you’ll think about it.” Sam finally said.

“Alright Sam, I’ll think about it.” Kaima agreed reluctantly.

“Alright Kay. Have a great day.” Sam said.

“Bye Sam.” Kaima replied as the line went dead.

“This is exhausting, I need a good distraction.” Kaima picked up her phone and dialed Fred.

……….to be continued

Genre: Nigerian Romance/Fiction



Leave a Reply

