THE COLOURFUL AND MODERN DESIGNS BY PRELIM

picstitch

A member of our team recently had an interview with the Head designer and Creative director of the colorful, eye-catching and modern African fashion label ‘Designs by Prelim”, Zimbabwean designer Preline Martha who was born in Zimbabwe but later moved to London, England at age 10.
Prelim is a very interesting name. Is there a story behind it?
The Name Prelim came from my youngest sister not being able to pronounce my name Preline. I liked the sound of it.
image (1)
Please could you enlighten us on the inspiration behind the label you created?
Prelim is a African inspired fashion label inspired by the Afrobeats culture that is currently arising in the London music scene. Prelim Clothing is always colorful driven with eye catching prints. Growing up in London and having an African background was defiantly interesting and would come to influence my work.
How did you start your Fashion Designing Journey and what would you say is your major influence(s)?
Started my fashion journey by studying fashion and textiles  in college and moving on to studying a women’s wear BA Degree at Middlesex University. In 2012 I started working on my label Prelim.
My current influence in my collection is the Afrobeats music influence; the fusion of African culture and western street culture and exploring it in fashion. As musician Fuse ODG said “this is new Africa” people are proud of their African heritage and western roots.  What I aimed for with my clothing line was that it would mix and match with items they had in their wardrobe.
 All Prelim designs are available for purchase. For More info, find DESIGNS BY PRELIM on FACEBOOK, on INSTAGRAM or follow via TWITTER

Leave a Reply

