I’D RATHER BE LUCKY THAN BE GOOD

luck

Yesterday, I watched the Woody Allen Movie ‘Match Point’ for the Seventh time which is certainly a time too many. I noticed that there was a vital part of the movie (which I had viewed six previous times)  featuring  the handsome actor Johnathan Rhys Meyers (Lead) and Scarlett Johansson ( a favorite of mine), was missed because I was too wrapped up in the story-line, acting prowess and on-screen drama.

The movie began in the narrative voice of the lead character who said:

“The Man who said I’ll rather be lucky than good, saw deeply into life. People are afraid to face how a great part of life is dependent on luck. It’s scary to think so much is out of one’s control. There are moments in a match when the ball hits the top of the net, and for a split second, it can either go forward or fall back. With a little luck, it goes forward and you win, or maybe it doesn’t, and you lose.”

This statement got me pondering for a while and raised some interesting questions about the role luck has to play in the sequence of our lives, if truly anything such as luck existed. Was the Universe designed or are we here by mere chance and a series of blind intertwined events?  What causes good luck and bad luck? Why are some people luckier than others? Is it possible that one can tip the scale in their favor by always having good luck and totally avoiding bad luck? And the questions go on……

I woke up this morning with all these confusing thoughts running through my mind and  still don’t have my answers, but one thing is for sure, if anything like luck did exist, then I will certainly rather to be lucky in life than be good.

Leave a Reply

