PROUD OF MY ROOTS!

It seems like this year will be a better year in terms of sticking with my new year resolution of blogging as regularly as possible…yaay! lol.

ELLE VARNER (AMAZING SONGSTRESS AND ABSOLUTE HAIR CRUSH)

ELLE VARNER (AMAZING SONGSTRESS AND ABSOLUTE HAIR CRUSH)

ELLE VARNER

ELLE VARNER

ELLE VARNER

ELLE VARNER

Today, I will be sharing my transitioning experiences of my hair edges. i am sure many of you are wondering what the heck I am talking about. As you all know, I began my transitioning journey from relaxed to natural hair about 5 months ago and so far, it’s been filled with mixed emotions for me. Sometimes, I think about how I would really love the polished look that relaxed hair gives but when I think a little harder and with a little dash of positivity, I feel better about my decision to go au naturel.

JANELLE MONAE IS FIERCE

JANELLE MONAE IS FIERCE

JANELLE MONAE NATURAL

JANELLE MONAE NATURAL

As I stated in the paragraph above, it is a big decision to decide to go natural because you don’t only have to change the physical appearance of your hair, but you also have to keep up a strong conviction that you are making the best decision (which of course you are) for your hair in the long run. Relaxers contain harmful chemicals that not only damages the hair robbing it of the essential oils and proteins that protects the hair but also lead to hair breakage and hair loss ultimately.

GORGEOUS

GORGEOUS

From my transitioning observation, I have found out that the front edges of my hair  were actually being thinned out by relaxer (I had no clue) but since I stopped relaxing, I have noticed a fullness around my edges that i hadn’t noticed before. It turns out that I actually have really pretty edges but it was damaged due to over processing with relaxer treatments. This is proof enough that relaxer is very damaging to your hair edges and may cause irreversible damage to your scalp it not discontinued.

RELAXED VERSUS NATURAL

RELAXED VERSUS NATURAL

What am I getting at? Well, it’s pretty simple. If you are still relaxing and think that you don’t have hair at your edges, why not stop and see if the relaxer is actually the cause of this! Your hair might just surprise you like mine did me.

Do this and be on a path to naturally beautiful hair like Elle Varner, Janelle Monae,  this gorgeous sister who I don’t know, lol, and all the amazing naturalistas out there. It’s will be a difficult journey, but it is totally worth it if you give it a try.

Bye guys and remember to stay organically beautiful,

xx

Vivianne

5 thoughts on “PROUD OF MY ROOTS!

  1. I really enjoyed this post! I decided to go natural in November last year! It’s been a long road and I have to say sometimes I feel like giving up and heading for the salon to get my hair all nice and sleek! But I have to say I’m seeing a bit of improvement to my edges and my subconscious is telling me that my hair is much healthier so I shall be patient and hopefully stay natural for the whole year….well, I will be putting on a weave once or twice…cause a girl’s got to do what a girl’s got to do:-))

    Like

  2. Oh ja! I make my own hair conditioner – I mix coconut oil, caster oil and olive oil. I apply in on my hair after I shampoo with the ORS Uplifting shampoo and leave it on for about an hour before washing out. Love it! My hair is soooo soft:-))

    Like

    • Thank you Missyolz. I agree with you about the coconut and olive oils. However, I am yet to try out castor oil on my hair. I hope to soon and be sure I will give my reviews about it. PS: you have beautiful hair. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  3. Pingback: NEW YEAR, NEW BEGINNINGS: MY HAIR TRANSITIONING JOURNEY | Organic Beauty From Vivianne

Leave a Reply

